University Senate Meeting Minutes February 27, 2018 3:15 – 5:00 PM Cox Ballroom, Cox Hall

Attended: Juliette Stapanian Apkarian, Henry Bayerle, Hope Bussenius, Erica Bruchko, Paul Byrnes, Susan Cruse, Lauren Kent-Delany, Joe Crespino, Erica Duncan, Margaret Fleming, Ronald Foust, Sandra Garraway, Vanda Hudson, Erika James, Moses Kim, Benn Konsynski, Cody Long, Hiram Maxim, Dwight A. McBride, Judy Raggi Moore, Mark Neufeld, Ashley Parcells, Kelli Pittman, Nichole Powell, Jessica Sales, Ani Satz, Karen Scheib, Jason Schneider, Pamela Scully, Joey Shea, Stephen Sencer, Sidney Stein, Sasha Volokh, Kristin Wendland, Holly York, Lynn Zimmerman, Brittany Whitlock

Excused Absences: Mimi Newell, Jonathan Lewin, Tomi Ojeniyi, Carla Berg, Paul Ficklin-Alred, Astrid Prinz, Gurbani Singh

Unexcused Absences: Natasha Armstrong, Mikelyn Batiste, Rhushi Bhadkamkar, Deborah Bruner, Josh Gilbert, Susan Hobson, Peng Jin, Matthew Klopman, Shervon Lewis, Nicole Nixon, Jalyn Radziminski, Michael Silver, Anand Swaminathan

Ex Officio Absences: Ben Palmer, Deena Keeler, Marlon Gibson, Dona Yarbrough, Lisa Underwood

Ex Officio - University Administration Absences: Claire E. Sterk, Christopher Augostini, Ajay Nair, Vincent Dollard, Michael Andrechak, Richard Mendola, Allison Dykes

Guests/Visitors/Correspondents: Jalisa Clark (for Jacob Clemente), Lynell Cadray, Kimber Williams, Carol Kissal, Sarah Cook, David C. Payne, Jennifer Hobbs, Natasha Hopkins (for Lisa Loveall)

- I. Senate Meeting Call to Order The February Senate meeting was called to order at 3:20 p.m.
- II. Approval of January 2018 Minutes Henry Bayerle The January 2018 Senate Meeting Minutes were approved by the Senate Members. A motion was approved to allow a reporter from the Emory Wheel to attend and record the February Senate Meeting with the understanding the he would discontinue recording and exit the meeting during the Honorary Degree Nominations discussion.
- III. Remarks form Provost Dwight A. McBride Provost McBride provided a brief update on his early observations of Emory, its core identity, and shared aspirations. McBride shared the ways in which the Office of the Provost will support faculty excellence and opportunities for Emory to reach aspirations for academic eminence. The Strategic Plan is scheduled to launch at the beginning of the fall 2018 semester. To further the goal of faculty excellence, Emory will do more to connect across disciplines and departments, and expand research opportunities for both undergraduate and graduate students.

The national search has been launched for the hiring of the next Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs. McBride outlined some of the responsibilities for this Vice Provost role. The search committee is led by Dr. Lanny Liebeskind, Vice Provost for Strategic Research Initiatives and Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Chemistry. The Provost is aware of the concerns that many researchers have expressed regarding support of faculty in the areas related to research administration and he is looking forward to the report being produced by a taskforce examining opportunities for improvements in research administration support and services.

Provost McBride noted two new appointments in the Office of the Provost. Dr. Pamela Scully has been appointed as the Vice Provost of Undergraduate Education to assist in the continued support of improving the undergraduate experience and student success. Caroline Driebe is the new Director of Communications and Outreach in the Office of the Provost and is charged with helping to improve communications and engagement opportunities, and help us to tell the many exciting academic stories that exist at Emory. Provost McBride concluded his remarks by touching on inclusive excellence and how it is essential to encourage full participation, inclusivity, and diversity at all levels across Emory.

- IV. Campus Safety Sam Shartar, Craig Watson, Rus Drew The group provided a status update on questions previously asked in reference to protection and crisis prevention, mitigation, and response, and locks on classroom doors. Senate members were also reminded of the LiveSafe safety app, online training videos, and guides that will aid in crisis prevention and mitigation. A large-scale active shooter exercise has been planned for the University and its public safety partners. The group answered additional questions posed by Senate members.
- V. Honorary Degree Nominations Joe Crespino Crespino reminded Senate members of the nine honorary degree candidates. A full list of the candidates and their bios can be found on the US Box site. The Senate members approved the full list of honorary degree candidates.
- VI. Call for Nominations for Senate Officers Henry Bayerle Bayerle announced that University Senate Elections will take place at the March 2018 Senate meeting. Open offices include Senate President-Elect and Senate Secretary. The current Senate Secretary will run for a second term. Bayerle also announced that the Distinguished Faculty Lecture has been rescheduled for April 9 at 4 pm in the Oxford Road Building. Dr. Carol Anderson will deliver the lecture.
- VII. Graduate Student Government Association Update Mark Neufeld Neufeld discussed strategic initiatives that the GSGA has outlined for this year. Neufeld shared the University's student governance structure, the GSGA organizational structure, and the GSGA's strategic and tactical goals for the 2017-2018 academic year. Senate members were also informed of a few of the GSGA's completed and ongoing projects, an upcoming graduate wide climate survey, and the SGA Inauguration on April 16, 2018.
- VIII. Consent Agenda Jason Schneider Schneider introduced a motion to use a consent agenda for meetings moving forward. The motion was seconded, and Schneider spoke in depth on how the Senate would use the consent agenda for efficient practice and operations. Schneider and Bayerle answered Senate members' questions about the body's use of the consent agenda. Senate members approved the motion.
 - IX. The February 2018 Senate Meeting was adjourned at 4:26 p.m.