University Senate Meeting Minutes January 23, 2018 3:15 – 5:00 PM Jones Room, Woodruff Library

Attended: Paul Ficklin-Alred, Juliette Stapanian Apkarian, Henry Bayerle, Carla Berg, Hope Bussenius, Erica Bruchko, Deborah Bruner, Paul Byrnes, Joe Crespino, Jacob Clemente, Susan Cruse, Allison Dykes, Margaret Fleming, Andreas Fritz, Sandra Garraway, Susan Hobson, Vanda Hudson, Deena Keeler, Ben Konsynski, Moses Kim, Hiram Maxim, Judy Raggi Moore, Tomi Ojeniyi, Kelli Pittman, Astrid Prinz, Jalyn Radziminski, Karen Scheib, Jason Schneider, Pamela Scully, Joey Shea, Sidney Stein, Claire E. Sterk, Anand Swaminathan, Mark Neufeld, Kristin Wendland, Brittany Whitlock, Holly York.

Excused Absences: Erica Duncan, Jonathan Lewin, Jessica Sales, Mary Newell, Lauren Kent-Delany, Michael Silver, Katie Hoppenjans. Nichole Powell, Ani Satz.

Unexcused Absences: Natasha Armstrong, Mikelyn Batiste, Josh Gilbert, Erika James, Peng Jin, Matthew Klopman, Shervon Lewis, Cody Long, Nicole Nixon, Ashley Parcells.

Ex Officio Absences: Lisa Underwood, James B. Hughes, Sasha Volokh, Ronald Foust, Marlon Gibson, Ben Palmer, Gurbani Singh, Dona Yarbrough.

Ex Officio - University Administration Absences: Michael Andrechak, Christopher Augostini, Vincent Dollard, Richard Mendola, Stephen Sencer, Lynn Zimmerman, Ajay Nair, Dwight A. McBride

Guests/Visitors/Correspondents: Natasha Hopkins (for Lisa Loveall), Kimber Williams, Peter Barnes, David C. Payne

- **I.** Senate Meeting Call to Order The January Senate meeting was called to order at 3:15 p.m.
- **II.** Approval of November 2017 Minutes Henry Bayerle The November 2017 Senate meeting minutes were approved by the Senate members.
- III. Remarks from President Sterk President Sterk updated the Senate on Emory's aspiration and strategic priorities, building on the "thinking and acting strategically" work and planning over the course of the past 1.5 year. She referenced the value of the senate's input during the November 2017 meeting. Emory will be engaged for impact and four pillars will guide the academic priorities that make up the plan: (1) faculty excellence, (2) academic community of choice (for students), (3) innovation through scholarship and creative expression, and (4) Atlanta as a gateway to the world. In addition, she explained the addition of signature initiatives. Next, she sought input on society's perceived role of higher education. Senate members asked questions and provided feedback on President Sterk's message.
- IV. Honorary Degree Nominations Michael Kloss and Joe Crespino Kloss informed the Senate about the 2018 Commencement Speaker and asked Senate members to support the speaker's candidacy for an honorary degree. Crespino explained how the Honorary Degree Nomination process has worked in the past. He shared that in addition to the Honorary Degree Committee, a

new presidential advisory committee has been formed which includes the chair of the Honorary Degree Committee. This group reviews the pool of previously approved honorees and recommends an honoree cohort for the upcoming Commencement. The changes provide a pathway for the Honorary Degree committee to have further feedback and input on which approved nominees are awarded the degrees in a given year. Crespino also shared the other nine honorary degree candidates. A full list of the candidates and their bios can be found on the US Box site.

- V. Update on PATH connection to Emory and update on Emory's annexation status David Payne Emory University's annexation petition was approved in December 2017, and as of January 1, 2018, and Emory University has been annexed into the City of Atlanta. Payne elaborated on the PATH Foundation Project with Emory on Emory's Clairmont campus and recognized supporters of the project. Payne also shared information on Emory's 'beltline' visioning initiative for projects on the campus as well as Dekalb County planning bike and pedestrian projects beyond Emory's campus.
- VI. Access to Emory Healthcare William Apicelli, Maureen Haldeman and Alan Kramer Henry Bayerle recognized Sid Stein for his work as chair of the Fringe Benefits Committee. Apicelli, Haldeman and Kramer provided an update on Emory Healthcare Patient Access. In the last five months, approximately 220 healthcare providers have been added to the Emory Healthcare Network. Utilization challenges were identified as a result of a recent operations analysis. Emory Healthcare has developed new partnerships with Peachtree Immediate Care, Smart Care Urgent Care, and CVS Minute Clinic. Mr. Kramer reminded Senate members of the 8EVIP hotline for Emory employees as well as their commitment to see patients today, tomorrow, or within the week. Mr. Kramer explained Emory Healthcare's progress locally and nationally when compared to other academic medical centers. Apicelli, Haldeman and Kramer answered questions on 8EVIP, expanded hours, and ER wait times.
- VII. Adjournment President Bayerle announced the upcoming UFC-sponsored event, the John F. Morgan Sr. Distinguished Faculty Lecture featuring Carol Anderson. Bayerle will send an email with more details on the event to Senate members.

The January 2018 Senate Meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m.