## University Senate Meeting Minutes March 27, 2018 3:15 – 5:00 PM Jones Room, Woodruff Library

Attended: Paul Ficklin-Alred, Juliette Stapanian Apkarian, Henry Bayerle, Carla Berg, Rhushi Bhadkambar, Hope Bussenius, Erica Bruchko, Paul Byrnes, Jalisa Clark, Erica Duncan, Margaret Fleming, Andreas Fritz, Ronald Foust, Sandra Garraway, Vanda Hudson, Peng Jin, Matthew Klopman, Lisa Loveall, Hiram Maxim, Judy Raggi Moore, Mark Neufeld, David Sandor, Ani Satz, Karen Scheib, Jason Schneider, Kelli Pittman, Pamela Scully, Joey Shea, Michael Silver, Sidney Stein, Anand Swaminathan, Sasha Volokh, Kristin Wendland, Lisa Underwood, Brittany Whitlock, Holly York, Lynn Zimmerman

**Excused Absences:** Jonathan Lewin, Astrid Prinz, Cody Long, Dona Yarbrough, Jessica Sales, Susan Cruse, Moses Kim, Mary Newell, Tomi Ojeniyi, Lauren Kent-Delany

**Unexcused Absences:** Natasha Armstrong, Mikelyn Batiste, Deborah Bruner, Josh Gilbert, Susan Hobson, Erika James, Shervon Lewis, Nicole Nixon, Ashley Parcells, Jalyn Radziminski

**Ex Officio Absences:** Gurbani Singh, Ben Palmer, Deena Keeler, Marlon Gibson, Joe Crespino, Benn Konsynski, James B. Hughes

**Ex Officio - University Administration Absences:** Claire E. Sterk, Dwight A. McBride, Christopher Augostini, Stephen Sencer, Ajay Nair, Michael Andrechak, Richard Mendola, Allison Dykes

Guests/Visitors/Correspondents: Peter Barnes, David C. Payne

- I. Senate Meeting Call to Order The March Senate Meeting was called to order at 3:17 pm.
- II. Approval of February 2018 Minutes Henry Bayerle The February 2018 Senate Meeting Minutes were approved by the Senate Members. The February minutes have been posted for review in the Senate Box folder.
- III. Election of Officers Henry Bayerle Bayerle reminded Senate members that CVs for the two nominees for president-elect were available on Box. He also introduced the candidate for the Senate Secretary position, Kelli Pittman. Following Pittman's Senate address, the two nominees for president-elect, Ani Satz and Juliette Renée Stapanian Apkarian, addressed the Senate and provided their respective backgrounds and qualifications.
  The 2018-2019 election ballots were distributed to all voting Senate members, and the votes were tallied with the announcement of the 2018-2019 Senate officers: Ani Satz as Senate president-elect and Kelli Pittman as Senate secretary serving a second term.
- IV. **Fringe Benefits Committee Sid Stein** Stein informed Senate members of the Fringe Benefits Committee's work over the past year. The Committee met three times. The topic of the first meeting was retirement plans; there were no formal recommendations, but there was a suggestion to reduce the number of recordkeepers from three to two in order to save money and hopefully gain us access to Vanguard Admiral funds. The Committee's second meeting was with representatives from the Emory Clinic to discuss issues of access in general, but particularly in the area of primary care. The number of primary care clinics has increased, but access is still a problem, mainly for those seeking care on Clifton Road. To facilitate access to clinics for

University employees, it was recommended that clinic appointment availability, currently viewable on the Emory Healthcare website, be made viewable in a password-protected section of the University website. The Fringe Benefits Committee suggested that Clinic representatives present to the University Senate, which they did at one of the Senate's previous meetings. In its third meeting the Committee discussed the possibility of changing from the current system of separate sick leave and vacation leave to the combined leave system used by Emory Healthcare. The Committee reviewed practices at Emory's peer institutions and recommended that the current system be retained. The Committee is waiting to hear from the Ways and Means Committee on the Senate's unamimous recommendation that all new hires be auto-enrolled in the University's retirement plan. Stein shared that BrightScope, an organization that rates retirement plans, had assigned the University plan a score of 60 out of 100, largely on the basis of a poor participation rate.

V. MARTA Update – Betty Willis – Willis shared the latest developments with the Clifton Corridor Transit Line, the eight-mile light rail MARTA project connecting the Lindbergh and Avondale MARTA Stations. Willis opened by sharing the history of this transit project dating back to 1961, as part of the Atlanta Regional Commission's regional transit plan. Since 2004, MARTA has been engaged in various stages of studies required in the federal funding process, all involving extensive public review and input from community stakeholders along the way. Willis detailed the project's local and federal funding scenario, the current transit legislation moving through the state Legislature and the potential impact it could have on future transit expansion in the Metro region. The Clifton Transit project is currently one of MARTA and the City of Atlanta's top projects being considered for funding as MARTA positions itself for the first major transit expansion in 20 years. Willis answered questions from Senate members. The projected date for completion of phase one of the project, the four miles from Lindbergh to Emory's campus, is 2025.

Bayerle introduced and welcomed David Sandor, Senior Vice President of Communications and Public Affairs

- VI. Committee on the Environment Hiram Maxim Maxim shared a review of capital projects that included improvements to various areas of campus, including improvements to Cooper Softball Field, Campus Life Center, and the PATH project. Maxim informed Senate members of items that are currently on the Committee's task list, such as finding alternatives to gas powered leaf blowers and the pedestrian path along Peavine Creek. Senate members were invited to join the Committee and the South Fork Conservancy to walk and learn more about the path along Peavine Creek on March 28 at 2:25 pm. Maxim closed by thanking key allies, including CoE committee members, James Johnson, Ciannat Howett, Kelly Weisinger, David Payne, Matthew Early, Jimmy Powell, and Daniel Rochberg. He also answered questions from Senate members.
- VII. Campus Life Committee—Lisa Loveall Loveall informed the Senate of the information gathering activities in which the Campus Life Committee has engaged. To understand how changes on campus have impacted and will impact students and student life, the Committee met with key campus representatives regarding Campus Life Center updates and a timeline for the Center, representatives of campus government who shed light on the split of SGA and GSGA, and members from Emory Wellness. The group plans to continue its work with Campus Dining on how to transition from the Duckling to the CLC. Loveall answered questions from Senate members.

- VIII. Transportation and Parking Committee Adele Clements and Vanda Hudson Hudson provided a summary of the committee's activities, which included committee meetings, appeals committee meetings, and citation reviews. Over the year, the committee reviewed and discussed the Commute Alternative Programs for graduate students and employees, shuttle ridership data, CAP participation data, parking projects, Bike Emory, Vanpool Program, and the Inclement Weather Policy as it pertains to parking deck practices. Clements answered questions from Senate members.
- IX. The March 2018 Senate Meeting was adjourned at 4:40 pm.