

## **University Senate**

## Emory University Senate Minutes April 23, 2024 3:00 – 5:00 pm EDT Zoom

## **Attendees**

Abbey Julian Abigail Sepich Alicia DeNicola

Alistair Erskine MD MBA

Allison Dykes Amy Adelman Amy Y. Chen

Andrea Casson Galiano

Andrew Sherrill Anjulet Tucker April Edward April Flint Benn Konsynski

Cameron Taylor
Danielle M Miller

David Borthwick
David C Payne

Dawn Francis-Chewning

Erica Bruchko
Florian Pohl
Gareth James
George Shepherd
Grace Tierney
Gregory Fenves
Holly York
Ian Krout
Ilya Nemenman

JaMor Hairston Jenna Daniel Jessica Davis Jodie Guest

John Ellis

Jonathan Poole
Josh Kaufmann
Joy McDougall
Justin Abraham
Kathryn Wood
Keiko Price
Khegan Meyers
Kimber Williams

Kristina Bethea Odejimi

Kurt Warncke Lanny Liebeskind

Lauren Gay
Lisa V Parker
Liz Carlino
Luke Anderson
Matt Kivel
Matt Mattson
Michael Martin
Michelle Lampl
Minnie Glymph
Modele Ogunniyi
Mustapha Oloko-Oba

Neeti Patel

Nitika Gupta Noelle McAfee

Paul Byrnes

Paul Marthers
Pearl Dowe

Pearl K. Dowe

Pranay Mamileti

Ravi V Bellamkonda

Roberto Franzosi

**Robin Morey** 

Sarah Dobbs

Saumya Mukhopadhyay

Shervon Lewis Sophia Hartzell Spencer Friedland

Stacey Gall Susan Bonifield Susan Ray

Theresa Milazzo Toluwanimi Olaleye

Toni Thomas Tracy Dang Valeda Dent Walter Kolis

## **Meeting Summary:**

Meeting moved to zoom due to the closure of Convocation Hall

The University Senate discussed the role of the Senate in representing the community's interests and making recommendations on policies that affect them. Dr. Alistair Erskine shared his experience as a Chief Information and Digital Officer at Emory Healthcare and Vice President for Digital Health at Emory University, highlighting the importance of digital transformation in improving lives and providing hope to people. Speakers also discussed various initiatives aimed at promoting inclusivity and respect on Emory University's campus, including the Culture of Respect program and the Athletics and Recreation Committee. Finally, the Senate discussed the need to revise university policies to promote inclusivity and transparency, with proposals for a Compliance Committee to review and consider new policies. Noelle McAfee was voted in as President Elect. Walter Kolis was elected Senate Secretary

 Welcome, Approval of Consent Agenda, minutes, University Senate President Nitika Gupta

Dr. Gupta reflected on the year and a time for celebration, graduation, new beginnings. Reflecting on Lost and Found. And taking the time to take screenshots of the group. Motion to approve the agenda by DFC, seconded by Benn. Votes in Zoom chat. A reminder that committee rosters will be approved after this meeting.

II. **Digital Officer Updates,** Dr. Alistair Erskine Chief Information and Digital Officer, Emory Healthcare, Vice President for Digital Health, Emory University

Dr. Erskine's PowerPoint, **Emory Digital Transformation**, *Digital Experiences*, *Emory Digital Strategy and Vision April 2024* is available on <u>SharePoint</u>.

III. Committee Reports: Prevention of Sexual Violence, Chair, Josh Kaufmann, Athletics and Recreation, Chair, April Flint, Environment, Chair, Michael Martin, Campus Life, Chair, Paul Marthers

Committee reports are available on **SharePoint**.

IV. Proposal for Enhanced Transparency in Emory University Policymaking,
President, Graduate Student Government Association, Neeti Patel

Neeti's proposals focused on a call for enhanced transparency in Emory University policymaking. She did not submit any materials. Committee discusses proposal to address university's use of regulations to stifle speech.

V. **CFOE Reports Voting Results,** University Senate President, Nitika Gupta Dr. Gupta presented the CFOE Reports Voting Results. Here is <u>a link</u> to the presentation

VI. **Election for President Elect and Secretary**, University Senate President Nitika Gupta

Noelle McAfee was voted in as President Elect. Walter Kolis was elected Senate Secretary. Votes are present in the attached Zoom Chat. Candidate bios can be found in <a href="SharePoint">SharePoint</a>.

VII. Change of Guard, University Senate President Nitika Gupta, President- Elect

Dr. Gupta is praised for her leadership and dedication. Dr. Gupta thanks rotating off Senate members for service. Screenshots of the group were taking to remember the moment. New president George receives gavel, Robert's Rules of Order, and scroll with message from Dalai Lama. Dr. Gupta is gifted a plaque and flowers.

VIII. Executive Session & Adjournment 5:13 pm