

University Senate

University Senate
Tuesday, January 28, 2025
3:00 P.M.
Room 208 Convocation Hall

MINUTES

Voting Members Present (47): George Shepherd (President), Noëlle McAfee (President Elect), Walter Kolis (Secretary), Abigail Dubinski, Francis Albright, Kenan Bajraktarevic, Monica Thieu, April Edward, Shervon Lewis, Liz Carlino, April Flint, Chris Blake, Paul Marthers, Michael Martin, Roy Simpson, Michael Owens, David Borthwick, Ilya Nemenman, Anna Espinosa, Lisa Underwood, Stacey Gall, Kurt Warncke, Sean Meighoo, Sasha Volokh, Jodie Guest, Florian Pohl, Jessica Wells, Eric Lonsdorf, Harold Simon, Jennifer Stapel-Wax, Kajal Patel, Andrew Sherrill, Babak Mahmoudi, Jeffrey Lichtman, Pranay Mamileti, Sohan Bellam, Harleigh Markowitz, Kosi Achara, Max Nguyen, Fateemaa Sohani, Chris Palazzolo, Janet DeForest, Mustapha Oloko-Oba, Tiffany Boller, Carlos Northern, VonYetta Hunter, Richard Freer

Voting Members Absent (11): Michelle Lampl, Roberto Franzosi, Jehu Hanciles, Benn Konsynski, Ameer Alnasser, Morgan Villar, Tehreem Hussain, Andrea Casson Galiano, David Kulp, Terez Whately-White, Timothy Ray

University Administration Present (5): Gregory Fenves, Lanny Liebeskind, Allison Dykes, Brad Slutsky, Enku Gelaye

University Administration Absent (7): Chris Augustini, Ravi Thadhani, Susan Bonifield, Deborah Bruner, Joshua Newton, John Ellis, Kevin Moody

Non-Voting Administrative Support Present (1): Lisa Parker

Invited Visitors Present (13): Jacob Muscolino, Danielle Miller, Melissa Daly, Anjulet Tucker, Jonathon Poole, Luke Anderson, Justin Abraham, Pearl Dowe, Carol Henderson, Ciannat Howett, Kristina Odejimi, Keiko Price, James Raper

Guests Present (5): Louise Turner, Carson Banks, Lisa Loveall, Jacqualyn Townsend, Courtney Jones-Stevens

The regular meeting of the University Senate was held on Tuesday January 28, 2025, at 3:00 p.m. in room 208 of Convocation Hall, the President being in the chair and the Secretary being present.

George Shepherd welcomed members, visitors, and guests.

The minutes of the December 4, 2025, University Senate meeting were approved by unanimous consent.

The report of the chair of the University Senate Honorary Degrees Committee, Michael Owens, to share candidates, was moved to the agenda for the executive session.

April Edward, President of the Emory University Staff Council, reported on behalf of the Staff Council.

Edward introduced the leadership of the Staff Council and highlighted several areas of focus including sponsoring a resource fair, fundraising for the employee hardship fund, and employee parking. Edward introduced Staff Council President-Elect, Liz Carlino. Carlino reported on the community fridge sponsored by Emory Dining.

Walter Kolis provided updates to University Senate members regarding the nominations and elections process for University Senate officers, committee chairs, committee members, and representatives whose terms are concluding this Spring.

Emory University President, Gregory Fenves, provided brief remarks regarding Emory's response to the Office of Management and Budget memo regarding federal funding for research.

David Borthwick reported on behalf of the Libraries and Museum committee. Borthwick reported the committee's next meeting was scheduled for February 21, 2025, with plans for discussion of open accessing publishing, and the role the library plays in supporting authors' fees.

Chris Blake reported on behalf of the Campus Development Committee. Blake reported the committee discussed the Cox Hall dining renovations, and opportunities to engage earlier with the administration on projects.

Michael Martin reported on behalf of the Environment Committee. Martin further reported the committee had a productive meeting in January. Martin reported the new provider for waste management at Emory University is in place and acknowledged the Division of Campus Services for their efforts in renegotiating the contract.

Paul Marthers reported on behalf of the Campus Life Committee. Marthers reported the committee met on January 27, 2025, and discussed Oxford College early graduation rates. Marthers further reported the committee invited the Environment Committee to provide an update at their next meeting on campus recycling. Marthers further reported the committee would look at exit survey data for students to identify what type of students Emory can better serve.

Ilya Nemenman reported on behalf of the Open Expression Committee. Nemenman reported updates on a case involving a School of Medicine student and the committee's continued involvement.

George Shepherd reported on behalf of the Open Expression Subcommittee. Shepherd introduced all members of the representative subcommittee and their affiliation with the University. Sheperd reported an overview of each section of the proposed open expression policy and the committee's reasoning for each section. Members of the subcommittee answered questions and shared how they collected feedback from their constituents to inform their efforts. Members of the University Senate asked questions and provided feedback to the Subcommittee.

The meeting entered executive session at 4:25 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:59 p.m.

Submitted, Walter Kolis, Secretary