

Senate Summary

University Senate

senate.emory.edu

News from the Emory University Senate

Election of 2015-2016 Officers

Nominees for the positions of Senate Secretary and Senate President-Elect gave brief statements. After a Senate vote, Kristin Wendland, senior lecturer in the Department of Music in the Emory College of Arts and Sciences, was elected as Senate President-Elect. Wendland will also serve as Faculty Council Chair-Elect. Amy Covington, program manager and administrative assistant in the Academic Services Department at Oxford College and current Acting Senate Secretary, will officially fill the role of Senate Secretary for the 2015-2016 academic year. Congratulations, new officers!

Research Compliance Policy

Kristin West, Associate Vice President and Director of the Office of Research Compliance, outlined the current policies in place that address allegations of research misconduct and authorship and credit disputes. She also presented the outlines of new draft policies for research integrity, and new guidelines for authorship and procedures to settle disputes. The new policies should be finalized by the beginning of next academic year, and will be posted to the Emory Policies website.

Class and Labor II, The Faculty: Update

Nadine Kaslow, professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Co-Chair of the Class and Labor II (Faculty) Committee, updated the Senate on the committee's progress and next steps. She reported that the committee will soon send out their faculty survey, after which they will analyze the qualitative and quantitative faculty data, analyze data gathered from deans and focus groups, and conduct benchmarking with other peer institutions if possible. The committee then will propose recommendations to the Senate and create a final report, which should be completed by November 2015.

MARCH 2015

2014-2015 Executive Committee

Kathryn Yount Senate President Senate.president@emory.edu

Jaffar Khan Senate President-Elect jkhan@emory.edu

Dell Jackson Secretary of the Senate ajack24@emory.edu

Anita Yarbrough Employee Council President avarbro@emory.edu

LaDonna Cherry Employee Council Past President

Linda Jackson Employee Council President-Elect

> Jon Darby SGA President jon.darby@emory.edu

Noah Cole SGA Oxford President noah c.cole@emory.edu

Ely Goldberg GSGA President ely.goldberg@emory.edu

Jordan Stewart-Rozema Senate Coordinator j.m.stewart-rozema@emory.ec

The Emory University Senate is comprised of faculty, staff, and students. It is the primary governance structure of the university. For more information visit our website: senate.emory.edu.



From the President's Desk

Dear Colleagues, Congratulations to Dr. Kristin Wendland and Ms. Amy Covington on their elections to Senate President-Elect and Senate Secretary, respectively. We wish them well as they assume their new governance roles at Emory. This month's discussion on draft policies and procedures to settle disputes over authorship was a welcomed opportunity to educate the Emory community about how to engage conflict productively on these important matters. Thanks to Kris West and her staff for all that they do for Emory. I continue to urge all members of the Emory community to engage in shared governance through the University Senate, University Faculty Council, University Employee Council, Student Government Associations, or your respective units.