

# Senate Summary

**University Senate** 

senate.emory.edu

## News from the Emory University Senate

Adapted from Kimber Williams and Maria Lameiras

#### **Divestment Process**

The University Senate has approved a motion to take an advisory role in making recommendations to Emory's President and Board of Trustees when it considers financial divestment from companies engaged in "morally evil activities" or alternative actions with companies engaged in activities that cause social harm. The Senate voted to create a process whereby ad hoc committees could be created to review proposals for divestment and make recommendations for a vote by the University Senate.

### **Faculty Resources**

Dr. Sheryl Heron and Dr. Michael Sacks reported on the work of the University Faculty Council Conflict Resolution Special Committee, which is exploring the creation of a process within university-level faculty governance structures for faculty to resolve interpersonal conflicts. Paula Gomes, executive director of Emory's Faculty Staff Assistance Program (FSAP), presented an overview of services offered through FSAP, which include health promotion and counseling.

#### **Coalition on the Liberal Arts**

Robyn Fivush, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Innovation, presented an update on the Coalition on the Liberal Arts (CoLA), which is moving forward on several recommendations from the final CoLA report. Those programs include: "intellectual tailgating" — activities that connect students and faculty with major Emory events, CoLA seminars, and "Emory Stories of the Liberal Arts."

#### **NOVEMBER 2014**

2014-2015 Executive Committee

Kathryn Yount Senate President <u>Senate.president@emory.edu</u>

Jaffar Khan Senate President-Elect jkhan@emory.edu

Dell Jackson Secretary of the Senate ajack24@emory.edu

Anita Yarbrough Employee Council President avarbro@emory.edu

LaDonna Cherry
Employee Council Past President

Linda Jackson Employee Council President-Elect Hack05@emory.edu

> Jon Darby SGA President <u>ion.darby@emory.ed</u>i

Noah Cole SGA Oxford President noah.c.cole@emory.edu

Ely Goldberg GSGA President <u>ely.goldberg@emory.edu</u>

Jordan Stewart-Rozema Senate Coordinator

i.m.stewart-rozema@emory.edu
The Emory University Senate is comprised of
faculty, staff, and students. It is the primary
governance structure of the university. For more
information visit our website: senate.emory.edu.

## From the President's Desk



Dear Colleagues,

Warmest well wishes for the New Year. I am grateful to our students, alumni, staff, deans, faculty, and executive leadership for thoughtful deliberation and action on important initiatives of the Senate last fall. I look forward to working with all of you in 2015. We continue to encourage all members of the Emory community to engage in shared governance through the University Senate, University Faculty Council, University Employee Council, Student Government Associations, or your respective units.