

Senate Summary

University Senate

senate.emory.edu

News from the Emory University Senate

Adapted from Kimber Williams and Leslie King

Senate Committee Rosters

A motion to approve this year's senate committee rosters spurred a robust discussion about student representation on those committees. In response, University Senate President Kathryn Yount offered a review of the selection process. After discussion, senate committee rosters were approved as presented. Yount also charged the Diversity Committee to develop guidelines for selecting representatives that could be used moving forward.

Divestment

President James Wagner led a conversation about higher education trends around principles of divestment, including how some universities are weighing in on issues of broad national interest by divesting from investments with companies engaged in controversial practices that reflect a standard of "moral evil."

University Achievements

Provost Claire Sterk highlighted recent university accomplishments, including ongoing work on Emory's global strategies, the new <u>Global Services</u> function that will soon be offered through Emory's <u>Office of International Affairs</u>, and recognition of the upcoming completion of the university's current <u>strategic plan</u>.

SEPTEMBER 2014

2014-2015 Executive Committee

Kathryn Yount Senate President <u>Senate.president@emory.edu</u>

Jaffar Khan Senate President-Elect jkhan@emory.edu

Dell Jackson Secretary of the Senate ajack24@emory.edu

Anita Yarbrough Employee Council President avarbro@emory.edu

LaDonna Cherry
Employee Council Past President
Ladonna cherry Formery edu

Jon Darby SGA President on.darby@emory.edu

Noah Cole SGA Oxford President noah.c.cole@emory.edu

Ely Goldberg GSGA President <u>ely.goldberg@emory.edu</u>

Jordan Stewart-Rozema Senate Coordinator

The Emory University Senate is comprised of faculty, staff, and students. It is the primary governance structure of the university. For more information visit our website: senate.emory.edu.

From the President's Desk



The Emory University Senate represents all constituencies of the university: students, alumni, staff, deans, faculty, and administrators. It is a forum for discussion and consideration of initiatives in any area of policy or other matter that affects the university. We encourage all members of the Emory community to engage in shared governance through the University Senate, University Faculty Council, University Employee Council, Student Government Associations, or your respective units.