The University Senate is an essential component of University governance. For this reason, students, faculty, and staff from each unit of the university are represented within the Senate.

The University Senate is composed of:

  • Ex officio members from the university administration
  • Members of the Faculty Council
  • Executive board members from the Employee Council, Student Government Association, and Graduate Student Government Association
  • Faculty and Student Representatives from each school
  • Representatives from alumni, librarians, staff, and academic deans

2021 – 2022 Roster

Executive Committee





President Octavian Ioachimescu School of Medicine  2020-2023
Past-President Giacomo Negro Goizueta Business School 2019-2022
President-Elect Alicia DeNicola Oxford College 2021-2024
Secretary Shana Ware Campus Life 2021-2024
President of GSGA Emmakristina Sveen Goizueta Business School and School of Law 2021-2022
President of SGA Rachel Ding Goizueta Business School 2021-2022
President of Oxford SGA Roxanne Chou Oxford College  2021-2022
President of Employee Council Dawn Francis-Chewning Emory Libraries 2020-2023
Past-President of Employee Council Melissa Morgan Human Resources 2019-2022
President-Elect of Employee Council Katrina Shafer School of Medicine 2022-2024


Click here for the full senate roster.