Senate Leadership

The University Senate is an essential component of University governance. For this reason, students, faculty, and staff from each unit of the university are represented within the Senate.

The University Senate is composed of:

  • Ex officio members from the university administration
  • Members of the Faculty Council
  • Executive board members from the Employee Council, Emory University Postdoctoral Association, Student Government Association, and Graduate Student Government Association
  • Faculty and Student Representatives from each school
  • Representatives from alumni, librarians, staff, and academic deans

2023 – 2024 Roster

Executive Committee





PresidentNitika GuptaSchool of Medicine2022-2025
Past-PresidentAlicia DeNicolaOxford College2021-2024
President-ElectGeorge ShepherdSchool of Law2023-2026
SecretaryJodie GuestRollins School of Public Health2023-2024
President of GSGANeeti PatelRollins School of Public Health2023-2024
President of SGAKhegan MeyersGoizueta Business School2023-2024
President of Oxford SGAToluwanimi OlaleyeOxford College 2023-2024
President of Employee CouncilShervon LewisCampus Services2022-2025
Past-President of Employee CouncilDawn Francis-ChewningEmory Libraries2020-2024
President-Elect of Employee CouncilApril EdwardSchool of Medicine2023-2026
Chair of EU-PDAGanesh SatyanarayanaSchool of Medicine2022-2024

Full Senate Roster (PDF)

Past Leadership